spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launches NRO satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 12, 2011, 9:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of NROL-27 (ULA) A Delta 4 rocket successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) on Friday evening. The Delta 4 Medium+ (4,2) lifted off from Space Launch Complex-37 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 6:38 pm EST (2338 GMT) Friday, after an approximately 40-minute delay because of high upper-level winds. The mission, designated NROL-27 or "Gryphon", carried a classified NRO satellite, and no details about the launch were released beyond that it was considered a success. Observers speculate that the spacecraft is a communications satellite designed to relay data from other NRO satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list