spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launch aborted
Posted: Thu, Mar 31, 2011, 6:45 AM ET (1045 GMT)
Ariane 5 prior to Yahsat 1A/New Dawn launch (Arianespace) The Ariane 5 launch of two communications satellites was aborted Wednesday after the rocket's main engine ignited. According to Arianespace, the rocket's Vulcain main engine ignited as scheduled at 5:45 pm EDT (2145 GMT) Wednesday, but the checkout process during ignition detected an unspecified anomaly, shutting down the engine before the two solid-rocket boosters ignited. Arianespace said it would return the rocket to the final assembly building to prepare it for another launch attempt while investigating the cause of the problem. No new launch date was immediately announced. The Ariane 5 was to launch the Yahsat Y1A and Intelsat New Dawn communications satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list