spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 10, 2011, 11:41 AM ET (1541 GMT)
Long March 3A launch of 8th Beidou satellite (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese navigation satellite into orbit early Sunday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from Xichang Satellite Launch Center in southwestern China at 4:47 pm EDT Saturday (2047 GMT Saturday, 4:47 am Beijing time Sunday) and placed a Beidou satellite into orbit. The satellite, the eighth of the overall navigation system, is said by Chinese officials to complete the "basic system"; launches over the next two years will complete a regional network, with a global network analogous to GPS or GLONASS planned for completion by 2020. The launch was the first Chinese mission of 2011.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list