spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches NRO satellite
Posted: Fri, Apr 15, 2011, 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of NROL-34 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) late Thursday night. The Atlas 5 411 lifted off from Space Launch Complex 3 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 12:24 am EDT (0424 GMT) Friday on a mission designated NROL-34. The launch was scheduled for Tuesday but postponed to replace a faulty component on the rocket. As is traditional with NRO launches, no details were released about the rocket's payload. The launch was the fourth mission of the year for United Launch Alliance, which operates the Atlas and Delta rockets; it was also the 25th Atlas 5 launch since the rocket's introduction in 2002.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list