spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches Progress cargo spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Apr 27, 2011, 9:44 PM ET (0144 GMT)
Progress M-10M launch (Roskosmos) A Soyuz rocket placed a Progress cargo spacecraft destined for the International Space Station into orbit on Wednesday. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:05 am EDT (1305 GMT) and placed the Progress M-10M spacecraft into orbit. The spacecraft is carrying 2.6 tons of food, water, propellant, and other supplies. Part of the spacecraft's payload of experiments were considered time-sensitive enough by Russian officials that they declined to postpone the launch to avoid a scheduling conflict with the shuttle Endeavour, which was scheduled to launch on April 19. Instead, NASA had to delay Endeavour by ten days. The Progress is scheduled to dock with the Pirs module of the station at 10:29 am EDT (1429 GMT) Friday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list