spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches military satellite
Posted: Thu, Jun 30, 2011, 7:31 AM ET (1131 GMT)
Minotaur 1 before ORS-1 launch (NASA) A Minotaur rocket launched a small military satellite late Wednesday evening from Virginia. The Minotaur 1 rocket lifted off from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia, at 11:09 pm EDT (0309 GMT Thursday) and released the ORS-1 satellite into low Earth orbit about 12 minutes later. The satellite, the first operational spacecraft for the Operationally Responsive Space (ORS) Office, will provide tactical imagery directly to troops in the field. The launch took place near the end of the three-hour launch window because of problems with ground support equipment and the rocket's flight termination system. A previous launch attempt Tuesday was scrubbed by stormy weather.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list