spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches data relay satellite
Posted: Tue, Jul 12, 2011, 6:56 AM ET (1056 GMT)
Long March 3C launch of TianLian 1-02 (Xinhua) China launched Monday a new data relay satellite to support its future human spaceflight activities. The Long March 3C rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:41 am EDT (1541 GMT) Monday and placed the Tianlian 1-02 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite will be used relay communications between ground control and various satellites, including future crewed spacecraft, similar to the US TDRSS satellite system. China plans to launch later this year the first module of will eventually be a small space station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list