spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts perform last shuttle-era EVA
Posted: Thu, Jul 14, 2011, 8:17 AM ET (1217 GMT)
STS-135: EVA (NASA) Two ISS astronauts spent six and a half hours outside the International Space Station on Tuesday on what NASA billed as the final spacewalk of the Space Shuttle era. Mike Fossum and Ron Garan performed the six-hour, 31-minute EVA that ended at 3:53 pm EDT (1953 GMT) Tuesday. The two transferred a broken ammonia pump from the station to the shuttle's cargo bay, and moved a robotic servicing experiment brought up on the shuttle to a temporary site on the station's exterior. The two also performed miscellaneous tasks, including installing a materials experiment and removing a misplaced wire. The spacewalk was described by NASA as the last of the shuttle era, although the EVA was performed by ISS crewmembers and not members of the STS-135 crew; the last spacewalk involving shuttle astronauts took place during the previous shuttle mission, STS-134, in May. The STS-135 crew has since been working to unload a logistics module carrying several tons of supplies for the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list