spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis lands, ending shuttle era
Posted: Thu, Jul 21, 2011, 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)
STS-135: landing (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Atlantis landed in Florida Thursday morning, ending the final mission in the 30-year shuttle program. Atlantis landed at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 5:57 am EDT (0957 GMT) Thursday in perfect weather conditions on its first landing opportunity, ending a nearly 13-day mission to the International Space Station. During its nearly nine days docked to the ISS, the four-person STS-135 crew transferred several tons of supplies to the station, permitting full operation of the station through 2012. The STS-135 crew also supported an EVA by two ISS crew members, who moved a faulty ammonia pump to the shuttle and installed a robotic servicing experiment brought to the station on the shuttle. The landing marks the end of the 135th and final shuttle mission, stretching back to STS-1 in April 1981. Atlantis will be later put on display at KSC.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list