spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Wed, Jul 27, 2011, 6:47 AM ET (1047 GMT)
Long March 3A launch of 9th Beidou satellite (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed the latest spacecraft for China's satellite navigation system into orbit on Wednesday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 5:44 pm EDT Tuesday (2144 GMT Tuesday, 5:44 am Beijing time Wednesday) and placed a Beidou satellite into an inclined geosynchronous Earth orbit. The satellite is the ninth in the Beidou-2 program, and the second launched this year; the system will eventually consist of 35 satellites, providing global navigation services similar to the US GPS and Russian GLONASS systems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches second pair of TROPICS cubesats
Posted: Sat, May 27 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Virgin Galactic conducts first suborbital spaceflight since 2021
Posted: Sat, May 27 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)

South Korea launches eight satellites on KSLV-2
Posted: Sat, May 27 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 30
Shenzhou 16 lifts off with China’s first civilian astronaut on board
South China Morning Post — 5:34 am ET (0934 GMT)
North Korea says "reconnaissance satellite" to be launched in June
Kyodo International — 5:30 am ET (0930 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list