spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Wed, Jul 27, 2011, 6:47 AM ET (1047 GMT)
Long March 3A launch of 9th Beidou satellite (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed the latest spacecraft for China's satellite navigation system into orbit on Wednesday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 5:44 pm EDT Tuesday (2144 GMT Tuesday, 5:44 am Beijing time Wednesday) and placed a Beidou satellite into an inclined geosynchronous Earth orbit. The satellite is the ninth in the Beidou-2 program, and the second launched this year; the system will eventually consist of 35 satellites, providing global navigation services similar to the US GPS and Russian GLONASS systems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list