spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental satellite
Posted: Fri, Jul 29, 2011, 8:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
China launched the latest in a series of what government officials call "experimental" satellites on Friday. The Long March 2C rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China at 3:42 am EDT (0742 GMT, 3:42 pm Beijing time) Friday, carrying the Shijian 11-02 satellite. The spacecraft will be used to carry out scientific experiments in space, according to official Chinese accounts, although Western observers speculate it and others in that class are carrying out military missions, such as missile early warning detection. The launch was the second by China in less than a week, and the third this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list