spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications satellite for Pakistan
Posted: Fri, Aug 12, 2011, 2:36 PM ET (1836 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Paksat-1R (Xinhua) A Chinese Long March rocket successfully launched a new communications satellite for Pakistan on Friday. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:15 pm EDT Thursday (1615 GMT Thursday, 12:15 am Friday local time) and placed the Paksat-1R satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The Chinese-built DFH-4 satellite weighed about 5,200 kilograms at launch and carries 12 C-band and 18 Ku-band transponders. The satellite, developed as part of a partnership between China and Pakistan, will provide communications services for Pakistan and the surrounding region from 38 degrees east in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list