spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches several satellites
Posted: Thu, Aug 18, 2011, 8:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
Dnepr launch (Kosmotras) A Dnepr rocket placed a Ukrainian remote sensing satellite and several smaller satellites into orbit on Wednesday. The Dnepr rocket lifted off from the Yasny launch base in southern Russia at 3:12 am EDT (0712 GMT) Wednesday and placed several satellites into orbit. The rocket's primary payload Sich-2, a 169-kilogram remote sensing satellite. The rocket also launched the NigeriaSat-2 and NigeriaSat-X satellites remote sensing satellites built by Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. for Nigeria, weighing 300 and 100 kilograms, respectively. Other satellites on the rocket included the AprizeSat-5 and -6 small communications satellites, the Turkish RASAT remote sensing satellite, and EduSat, an Italian education satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 19
Ready to buy a trip to orbit from Elon Musk?
Quartz — 6:36 am ET (1136 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list