spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Sep 24, 2011, 9:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)
H-2A launch of Ibuki (JAXA) An H-2 rocket successfully launched a Japanese spy satellite on Friday. The H-2A 202 lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 12:36 am EDT (0436 GMT, 1:36 pm local time) Friday, carrying the latest in Japan's series of Information Gathering Satellites (IGS), known as Optical-4. Japan has launched several IGS satellites designed to provide optical and radar imagery to support the country's national security, but has divulged few details about the spacecraft. The launch had been planned for August but was postponed because of a problem with a receiver in the rocket's range safety system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches 50th Electron
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches Astra 1P
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Isar Aerospace raises $70 million
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 25
Space Force, NASA Deals Power Parabilis
San Diego Business Journal — 5:06 am ET (0906 GMT)
Space Command Preparing Data Fusion Pilot Program
Aviation Week — 5:05 am ET (0905 GMT)
Boeing's Starliner: A Cautionary Investor's Tale
Forbes.com — 5:02 am ET (0902 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list