spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches TacSat-4
Posted: Wed, Sep 28, 2011, 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
Minotaur 4 launch of TacSat-4 (US Navy) A Minotaur 4 rocket successfully launched a small military communications satellite on Tuesday. The Orbital Sciences Corporation Minotaur 4+ lifted off from the Kodiak Launch Complex in Alaska at 11:49 am EDT (1549 GMT) and placed the TacSat-4 satellite into an inclined elliptical orbit with a perigee of 185 kilometers and an apogee of 11,865 kilometers. The satellite carries a UHF communications payload to enable near-continuous communications at high latitudes, augmenting existing geosynchronous orbit communications satellites. The 450-kilogram satellite was built by a government/industry team led by the Naval Research Lab and johns Hopkins University's Applied Physics Lab; part of the project was to mature small satellite technologies for future operationally responsive space (ORS) missions.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Sunday, June 26


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list