spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Satellite failure disrupts Canadian communications
Posted: Fri, Oct 7, 2011, 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
Boeing 702 updated satellite illustration (Boeing) A communications satellite went into safe mode early Thursday, interrupting phone and data services over portions of North America. Telesat reported its Anik F2 communications satellite suffered an unspecified "technical anomaly" shortly after 6:30 am EDT (1030 GMT) Thursday, causing a disruption in the communications services it provided. Telesat reported that the satellite is healthy and should be returned to service, perhaps as soon as Friday. The satellite, a Boeing 702 model launched in 2004, provides phone, Internet, and other communications services for communities in northern Canada. An American company, ViaSat, also leases capacity on the satellite to offer broadband Internet service to some US customers.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Sunday, June 26


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list