spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz lifts off from Kourou for first time
Posted: Fri, Oct 21, 2011, 6:25 PM ET (2225 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Galileo IOV1 from Kourou (ESA) A Soyuz rocket, launching from Europe's spaceport in French Guiana for the first time, placed two Galileo navigation satellites into orbit on Friday. The Soyuz-STB rocket lifted off from the spaceport near Kourou, French Guiana, at 6:30 am EDT (1030 GMT) Friday carrying the first two Galileo In Orbit Validation (IOV) satellites. Nearly four hours later the two satellites separated from the Fregat upper stage in circular orbits at an altitude of over 23,000 kilometers and inclined 54.7 degrees to the Equator. The satellites are part of four planned IOV satellites that will test out technologies required for the full satellite navigation system. The launch is also the first from Kourou for the Soyuz, which had previously launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan and Plesetsk Cosmodrome in Russia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list