spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches new crew to ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 14, 2011, 6:11 AM ET (1111 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-22 launch (NASA) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a spacecraft carrying three new ISS crewmembers early Monday. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from a snowy Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 11:14 pm EST Sunday (0414 GMT, 10:14 am local time Monday) and placed the Soyuz TMA-22 spacecraft into orbit. On board the spacecraft is American astronaut Dan Burbank and Russia cosmonauts Anton Shkaplerov and Anatoly Ivanishin. The Soyuz is slated to dock with the ISS at 11:33 pm EST Tuesday (0433 GMT Wednesday). The launch had originally been scheduled for September, but was postponed after a failure of a similar Soyuz rocket carrying a Progress cargo spacecraft in August. The three new ISS crewmembers will briefly share the station with the current crew of Mike Fossum, Satoshi Furukawa, and Sergei Volkov, who will return to Earth next week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list