spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications satellite for Nigeria
Posted: Tue, Dec 20, 2011, 7:19 AM ET (1219 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Nigcomsat-1R (Xinhua) A Chinese rocket placed into orbit Tuesday a new communications satellite for Nigeria. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:41 am EST monday (1641 GMT Monday, 12:41 am Beijing time Tuesday) and placed the Nigcomsat-1R satelite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite, built by China Academy of Space Technology, will replace an existing Chinese-built communications satellite for Nigeria that failed in orbit in 2008. The 5,100-kilogram satellite will operate at 42.5 degrees east in GEO, providing communications services in several frequency bands for Nigeria.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 27
ULA worker suspended pending further investigation
WHNT-TV — 10:33 pm ET (0233 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list