spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GRAIL spacecraft ready to enter lunar orbit
Posted: Fri, Dec 30, 2011, 6:40 AM ET (1140 GMT)
GRAIL illustration (NASA) Two NASA spacecraft launched in December are ready to enter lunar orbit this weekend, project officials confirmed this week. The twin Gravity Recovery And Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) spacecraft will fire thrusters to go into orbit around the Moon, with GRAIL-A arriving at 4:21 pm EST (2121 GMT) Saturday and GRAIL-B at 5:05 pm EST (2205 GMT) Sunday. The two spacecraft, launched together on a Delta 2 in September, will use radio signals transmitted between each other to determine their separation distance, which in turn will be used to measure the Moon's gravity map. The spacecraft also carry cameras that will be used for educational purposes.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list