spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MSL successfully adjusts course
Posted: Thu, Jan 12, 2012, 2:20 PM ET (1920 GMT)
MSL in flight (NASA/JPL illustration) NASA's Mars Science Laboratory (MSL) spacecraft fired its thrusters late Wednesday to put the spacecraft on course for a Red Planet landing in August. The spacecraft fired its eight thrusters in a carefully choreographed sequence over the course of three hours starting at 6 pm EST (2300 GMT) Wednesday, changing its trajectory to bring it 40,000 kilometers closer to encountering Mars. The spacecraft, launched in November, was originally and deliberately put into a trajectory that would miss Mars so that its upper stage would not hit the planet. MSL, carrying the Curiosity rover, will land on Mars early on August 6.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list