spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Iran launches small imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 4, 2012, 7:36 AM ET (1236 GMT)
Safir launch of Iranian Navid satellite (Press TV) Iranian officials announced Friday that they launched a small imaging satellite, the third satellite launched by the nation. A Safir-1 rocket lifted off from an Iranian base near Semnan, Iran, at shortly after 7 pm EST Thursday (0000 GMT Friday) and placed the Navid-e Elm-o Sanat satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite, weighing 50 kilograms, is primarily designed to take images of the Earth, but officials did not disclose the resolution or other attributes of the imagery it will take. The satellite is the third launched by Iran into orbit, after launches of smaller satellites in 2009 and 2011.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list