spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Powerful solar flares erupt
Posted: Thu, Mar 8, 2012, 6:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
Solar flare on 2012 March 7 (NASA) A pair of solar flares, including the second biggest of the current solar cycle, erupted on the Sun this week, threatening to create a geomagnetic storm at Earth over the next day. An X5.4 flare took place on the Sun at approximately 7 pm EST March 6 (0000 GMT March 7), followed a little over an hour later by a X1.3 flare. The X5.4 flare is the largest flare seen during the current cycle of solar activity after an X6.9 flare last August. The flares are expected to create a geomagnetic storm, including aurorae and possible interference with communications, on Thursday. That storm could be the biggest in five years, scientists predict.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list