spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Middle Eastern communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 24, 2012, 6:27 AM ET (1027 GMT)
Proton launch of Yahsat-1B (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for a Middle Eastern company on Tuesday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 6:18 pm EDT Monday (2218 GMT Monday, 4:18 am local time Tuesday) carrying the Yahsat 1B (Y1B) satellite. The Proton's Breeze M uppet stage relased the satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit a little over nine hours later. The satellite, a Eurostar E3000 model built by Astrium, weighed over 6,000 kilograms at launch. The satellite carries a Ka-band dual-use payload provided by Thales Alenia Space that will provide commercial communications services for Abu Dhabi-based YahSat and government communications for the UAE.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list