spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches NRO satellite
Posted: Wed, Jun 20, 2012, 2:05 PM ET (1805 GMT)
Atlas 5 401 launch of NROL-38 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) on Wednesday morning. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 8:28 am EDT (1228 GMT) on the NROL-38 mission for the NRO. Given the classified nature of the mission few details were released, but United Launch Alliance (ULA) declared the launch a success later Wednesday morning. Outside observers speculate that the payload is a communications satellite that will relay data from other NRO satellites. The launch was also the 50th of the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) programs, including 31 Atlas 5 and 19 Delta 4 launches.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list