spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches communications, weather satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 6, 2012, 10:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of EchoStar 17 and MSG-3 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket launched a commercial communications satellite and a European weather satellite on Thursday evening. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 5:36 pm EDT (2136 GMT) carrying the EchoStar 17 and MSG-3 satellites, releasing both into geosynchronous transfer orbits about a half-hour later. EchoStar 17, build by Space Systems/Loral for EchoStar subsidiary Hughes, weighed 6,100 kilograms at liftoff and carries a Ka-band payload to provide broadband Internet services to customers in North America from 107.1 degrees west in GEO. The satellite is based on the same model as Intelsat-19, which suffered a solar array deployment problem shortly after launch last month; Space Systems/Loral reported the array deployment for EchoStar 17 went smoothly. MSG-3, but by Thales Alenia Space for European meteorological agency Eumetsat, weighed just over 2,000 kilograms at launch. It will provides meteorological data from GEO to support weather forecasting for Europe.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Opinion: The future of spaceflight is female
Houston Chronicle — 8:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list