spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rockot launches four satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 29, 2012, 12:48 PM ET (1648 GMT)
Rockot launch of SERVIS-2 (Eurockot) A Russian Rockot vehicle, launching for the first time in a year in a half, placed four small satellites into orbit on Saturday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 9:35 pm EDT Friday (0135 GMT, 5:35 am Moscow time Saturday) and placed four satellites into highly inclined orbits at an altitude of about 1,500 kilometers. Three of the satellites are store-and-forward communications satellites, one for the military and designated Cosmos 2481, and two civilian Gonets-M satellites. The four satellite on the Rockot was a small technology demonstration satellite called MiR. The launch was the first for the Rockot since February 1, 2011, when a problem with the Rockot's upper stage stranded a small military satellite in the wrong orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts complete first AMS repair spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)


LeoSat suspends operations
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 21
Trump's pick for NOAA job withdraws, citing health reasons
Washington Times — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list