spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MSL in good shape for Sunday night landing
Posted: Sun, Aug 5, 2012, 4:06 PM ET (2006 GMT)
MSL entry into Martian atmosphere (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Science Laboratory (MSL) spacecraft is in good condition less than 12 hours before landing, project officials said Sunday morning. The project team said the spacecraft is close enough on course that a final trajectory correction maneuver scheduled for Sunday morning was canceled, and a final upload of parameters for the spacecraft's flight software may not be needed. MSL, featuring the Curiosity rover, is set to land within Gale Crater at 10:31 pm PDT Sunday (1:31 am EDT, 0531 GMT Monday). The rover carries a suite of instruments that scientists hope will help them better understand the past habitability of the planet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list