spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MSL in good shape for Sunday night landing
Posted: Sun, Aug 5, 2012, 4:06 PM ET (2006 GMT)
MSL entry into Martian atmosphere (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Science Laboratory (MSL) spacecraft is in good condition less than 12 hours before landing, project officials said Sunday morning. The project team said the spacecraft is close enough on course that a final trajectory correction maneuver scheduled for Sunday morning was canceled, and a final upload of parameters for the spacecraft's flight software may not be needed. MSL, featuring the Curiosity rover, is set to land within Gale Crater at 10:31 pm PDT Sunday (1:31 am EDT, 0531 GMT Monday). The rover carries a suite of instruments that scientists hope will help them better understand the past habitability of the planet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list