spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 9:31 AM ET (1331 GMT)
PSLV launch of SPOT 6 (ISRO) An Indian rocket placed a commercial remote sensing satellite into orbit on Sunday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from India's Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 12:23 am EDT (0423 GMT, 9:53 am local time) Sunday and placed the SPOT 6 satellite into orbit. The satellite, built by EADS Astrium for its own Astrium GeoInformation Services subsidiary, will provide imagery with resolutions as sharp as 1.5 meters. A twin satellite, SPOT 7, is scheduled for launch in 2014, and will work in tandem with SPOT 6 as well as the Pleiades very high resolution imaging satellites. The PSLV also placed into orbit the student-built Proiteres microsatellite from Japan. The launch was the Indian space agency's 100th mission, and India's prime minister attended the launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 28
Spaceport cup promotes region, launches futures
El Paso Inc. — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list