spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches European weather satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 19, 2012, 2:04 PM ET (1804 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Metop-B (ESA) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a European polar-orbiting weather satellite on Monday. The Soyuz-2.1a rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 12:28 pm EDT (1628 GMT, 10:28 pm local time) Monday and placed the Metop-B satellite into a polar orbit at an altitude of 810 kilometers. The satellite, built by EADS Astrium for the European weather agency Eumetsat, will provide weather data to augment that provided by the agency's satellites in geosynchronous orbit. It will also provide continuity for Metop-A, launched in 2006 and still operational, although past its design life. The launch had been planned for earlier this year but was delayed by disputes between Russia and Kazakhstan over the drop zones for stages of the Soyuz flying on this particular trajectory out of Baikonur.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Iceye raises $93 million
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)

NASA seeks revamp of Mars Sample Return program
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

NASA confirms ISS debris hit Florida house
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list