spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Venezuelan satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 30, 2012, 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of VRSS-1 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket successfully launched a remote sensing satellite for the government of Venezuela on Saturday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:12 am EDT (0412 GMT, 12:12 pm Beijing time) Saturday and placed the VRSS-1 satellite, also known as Francisco de Miranda, into sun-synchronous orbit. The 880-kilogram satellite, built by China Academy of Space Technology, will provide medium-resolution imagery for the Venezuelan government to support various land use and environmental applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list