spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 13, 2012, 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Galileo IOV-2 satellites (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket launched a pair of Galileo navigation satellites for Europe on Friday, allowing on-orbit testing of the planned system to begin. The Soyuz ST-B rocket lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 2:15 pm EDT (1815 GMT) Friday and released the two Galileo In Orbit Validation (IOV) satellites into medium Earth orbit three hours and 45 minutes later. The spacecraft join two other IOV satellites launched on a Soyuz almost exactly a year ago. ESA and the European Commission will use the four satellites to test and fine-tune the technologies needed for the full Galileo satellite navigation system. Europe plans to start launching the operational Galileo satellites next year, with 18 in orbit by late 2014, enough to begin to provide some navigation services. The full 30-satellite constellation will be in place by 2018.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list