spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon capsule departs ISS and returns to Earth
Posted: Sun, Oct 28, 2012, 9:40 PM ET (0140 GMT)
Dragon after CRS-1 splashdown (SpaceX) A Dragon cargo spacecraft left the International Space Station on Sunday morning and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean several hours later. The Dragon spacecraft was unberthed from the station by the Canadarm2 robotic arm at 7:19 am EDT (1119 GMT) Sunday and released by the arm just over two hours later. Dragon departed from the station and, several hours later, reentered, splashing down in the planned recovery zone approximately 400 kilometers off the coast of Baja California at 3:22 pm EDT (1922 GMT). SpaceX reported that the capsule was soon loaded onto a recovery boat, which is heading back to the port of Los Angeles. Dragon is carrying 760 kilograms of equipment, experiments, and other items from the station. The landing marks the end of the first commercial resupply mission, three weeks after a Falcon 9 launched the Dragon spacecraft from Cape Canaveral, Florida.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list