spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches French imaging satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 2, 2012, 11:26 AM ET (1626 GMT)
Soyuz ST-A launch of Pleiades 1B (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket lifted off from French Guiana on Saturday night and placed a French imaging satellite into orbit. The Soyuz ST-A rocket lifted off from the European spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:02 pm EST Saturday (0202 GMT Sunday) carrying the Pléiades 1B satellite. The rocket's Fregat upper stage released the satellite into its Sun-synchronous orbit 55 minutes after liftoff. The satellite, built by EADS Astrium with an imaging payload provided by Thales Alena Space, will provide high-resolution images for government and commercial users. The launch was delayed a day because of a technical issue with the launcher.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 19
Ready to buy a trip to orbit from Elon Musk?
Quartz — 6:36 am ET (1136 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list