spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two communications satellites
Posted: Thu, Dec 20, 2012, 12:37 PM ET (1737 GMT)
Ariane 5 ECA launch of Skynet 5D and Mexsat Bicentenario (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket launched communications satellite for the British military and for a Mexican government agency on Wednesday evening. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from the spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:49 pm EST (2149 GMT) and placed the Skynet 5D and Mexsat Bicentenario spacecraft into geosynchronous transfer orbit about a half-hour later. Skynet 5D is an EADS Astrium Eurostar E3000 model spacecraft, weighing 4,800 kilograms at launch. Astrium Services will operate the spacecraft at 53 degrees east in GEO to provide communications services for the British Ministry of Defence and allies. Mexsat Bicentenario is an Orbital Sciences GEOStar-3 model spacecraft, weighing approximately 3,000 kilograms at launch. It will be operated by the Mexican Secretariat of Communications and Transport to provide C- and Ku-band communications services from 114.9 degrees west in GEO. The launch was the seventh and final Ariane 5 mission of the year, and the last scheduled orbital launch worldwide in 2012.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Maxar to sell MDA
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)

Long March 5 returns to flight
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:43 PM ET (1843 GMT)

Rockot performs final launch
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:41 PM ET (1841 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 20
Space: Not the final frontier, but the new Wild West
POLITICO — 6:57 am ET (1157 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list