spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit-3SL launch fails
Posted: Fri, Feb 1, 2013, 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
A Sea Launch Zenit-3SL rocket suffered an engine shutdown shortly after liftoff early Friday, causing the vehicle and its satellite payload to plunge into the ocean. The Zenit-3SL lifted off from its floating Odyssey Launch Platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 1:56 am EST (0656 GMT) Friday. Few details about the launch itself were available during the webcast, but company officials later confirmed that "all telemetry was lost" from the rocket 40 seconds after liftoff, indicating a loss of mission. Other reports stated that there was a shutdown of the rocket's first-stage engine, but few other details about the failure have been released. The failure is the first for Sea Launch since a January 2007 failure when the Zenit's first-stage engine malfunctioned immediately after liftoff.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list