spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches new Landsat satellite
Posted: Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 7:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
Atlas5 launch of LDCM/Landsat 8 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully placed the newest Landsat remote sensing satellite into orbit on Monday. The Atlas 5 rocket lifted off from Space Launch Complex 3 at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 1:02 pm EST (1802 GMT) and released the Landsat Data Continuity Mission (LDCM) spacecraft into a sun-synchronous orbit 79 minutes later. The Orbital Sciences-built spacecraft, weighing about 2,780 kilograms, is the latest in a series of earth sciences spacecraft dating back 40 years, and the first Landsat spacecraft since Landsat 7, launched in 1999. The spacecraft will be renamed Landsat 8 and handed over to the US Geological Survey for normal operations in about three months.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list