spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon experiences problems after successful launch
Updated: Fri, Mar 1, 2013, 5:15 PM ET (2215 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Mar 1, 2013, 2:10 PM ET (1910 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of CRS-2 mission (NASA/KSC) A SpaceX Dragon spacecraft suffered a problem with its thruster system immediately after entering orbit after a launch Friday morning. The Falcon 9 rocket carrying the Dragon lifted off on schedule at 10:10 am EST (1510 GMT) from Cape Canaveral, Florida, and the Falcon placed the spacecraft into orbit as planned nine minutes later. Almost immediately after spacecraft separation, though, SpaceX reported a problem with the Dragon that prevented it from deploying its solar arrays. In brief statements from the company, as well as from the Twitter feed of its CEO, Elon Musk, SpaceX reported it experienced a propellant valve issue that affected three of four thruster pods. Officials said Friday afternoon that they believed they had resolved a blockage in a pressurant line that caused the thruster problem, and that all four pods were now operating. A planned Saturday arrival of Dragon to the ISS has been postponed to no earlier than Sunday, pending confirmation that the thrusters are working and agreement with NASA that Dragon can safely approach the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list