spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon arrives at ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 3, 2013, 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)
Dragon grappled by ISS on CRS-2 mission (NASA) A commercial Dragon cargo spacecraft, having overcome earlier problems with its thrusters, arrived at the International Space Station early Sunday and is now attached to the station. The Dragon spacecraft, flying the Commercial Resupply Services 2 (CRS-2) mission, rendezvoused with the station early Sunday, and the ISS's robotic arm grappled the spacecraft at 5:31 am EST (1031 GMT). The robotic arm then moved the Dragon to its berthing port on the Earth-facing side of the Harmony module, with the spacecraft firmly attached to the station at 8:56 am EST (1356 GMT). Dragon, carrying several hundred kilograms of experiments and other supplies, will remain docked to the station for three weeks before departing and returning to Earth. The Dragon berthing took place one day later than originally planned after the spacecraft experienced problems with its thrusters immediately after entering orbit Friday. Engineers traced the problem to the blockage in a line that pressurizes an oxidizer tank, and all four thruster pods were working again several hours after launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list