spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton returns to flight, launches Mexican satellite
Posted: Wed, Mar 27, 2013, 7:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)
Proton M launch of Satmex 8 (ILS) The Proton rocket returned to flight early Wednesday with the successful launch of a Mexican satellite. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 3:07 pm EDT Tuesday (1907 GMT Tuesday, 1:07 am local time Wednesday) carrying the Satmex 8 satellite. The rocket's Breeze M upper stage released the satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit nine hours and 13 minutes after liftoff. Satmex 8, a Space Systems/Loral 1300 model spacecraft, weighed 5,474 kilograms at launch and carries a payload of 24 C-band and 40 Ku-band transponders. Mexican satellite operator Satmex will use the spacecraft at 116.8 degrees west in GEO, replacing the existing Satmex 5 satellite. The launch was the first for the Proton since a December mission that placed a communications satellite into a lower-than-planned orbit when the upper stage shut down prematurely.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list