spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches crew on "express" flight to ISS
Posted: Thu, Mar 28, 2013, 8:38 PM ET (0038 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-08M launch (NASA) A Soyuz rocket launched a spacecraft carrying three people making what is planned to be the shortest flight to the International Space Station. The Soyuz rocket carrying the Soyuz TMA-08M spacecraft lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 4:43 pm EDT (2043 GMT) Thursday. The spacecraft, carrying American astronaut Chris Cassidy and Russian cosmonauts Pavel Vinogradov and Alexander Misurkin, is making the first "express" trip to the ISS, a journey that normally takes two days. The Soyuz is scheduled to dock with the station's Poisk module at 10:32 pm EDT Thursday (0232 GMT Friday), or less than six hours after liftoff. The same fast approach to the station has been used by Progress cargo spacecraft going to the ISS, but never before by a Soyuz spacecraft traveling to the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list