spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress spacecraft antenna fails to deploy after launch
Posted: Thu, Apr 25, 2013, 7:31 AM ET (1131 GMT)
Progress M-19M launch (Roscosmos) A Progress spacecraft launched Wednesday failed to deploy one of its antennas after reaching orbit, a problem that could hinder its ability to safely dock with the International Space Station. A Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 6:12 am EDT (1012 GMT) Wednesday and placed the Progress M-19M into orbit, with a plan to dock with the station on Friday. However, shortly after launch controllers reported that an antenna used by the spacecraft's automated docking system failed to deploy as planned. The rendezvous and docking are expected to go forward, but one Russian report indicated that the stowed antenna could prevent the Progress from docking securely to the station, requiring a spacewalk to free the antenna.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list