spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, May 16, 2013, 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of GPS 2F-4 (ULA) For the first time, an Atlas 5 rocket launched a GPS navigation satellite from Florida on Wednesday afternoon. the Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, on schedule at 5:38 pm EDT (2138 GMT) Wednesday, placing the GPS 2F-4 satellite into medium Earth orbit. The satellite is is the fourth in the 2F series of GPS satellites, augmenting the existing constellation of navigation spacecraft. The launch also marked the first time an Atlas 5 launched a GPS satellite; previously, the Air Force used the Delta 2 and Delta 4 rockets for these spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list