spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shenzhou-10 lands safely
Posted: Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)
Shenzhou-10 landing (Xinhua) A Chinese spacecraft carrying three astronauts landed safely on Wednesday, ending a successful if relatively low-key mission. The Shenzhou-10 spacecraft landed in Inner Mongolia at 8:07 pm EDT Tuesday (0007 GMT, 8:07 am Beijing time Wednesday). The capsule carried Nie Haisheng, Wang Yaping, and Zhang Xiaoguang, completing their 15-day spaceflight. The crew spent more of their time docked to the Tiangong-1 module, including a "space lesson" for students on Earth. The mission got relatively little coverage in Chinese media beyond that lesson, although Chinese officials declared the missiona complete success after landing. The Tiangong-1 module is being retired after this mission, although China plans to launch a second, Tiangong-2, in 2015, as it plans for a permanently-crewed space station by 2020.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA and ESA finalize ExoMars Rosalind Franklin agreement
Posted: Sun, May 19 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)

Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)

BEpiColombo Mercury mission suffers thruster problem
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 23
San Antonio leaders working to land new Space Force cyber unit in city
San Antonio Express-News — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list