spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts perform ISS spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Jul 10, 2013, 6:38 AM ET (1038 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2013 July 9 (NASA) American and Italian astronauts spent more than six hours outside the International Space Station (ISS) on Tuesday, completing a series of maintenance tasks that include preparing for the arrival of a new Russian module. NASA's Chris Cassidy and ESA's Luca Parmitano completed a six-hour, seven-minute spacewalk at 2:09 pm EDT (1809 GMT). The two replaced a failed communications unit and a camera and retrieved two experiments mounted on the station's exterior. The spacewalkers also router power cables in preparation for the planned replacement of the station's Pirs module with a new Russian multipurpose lab module later this year. The two astronauts are scheduled to perform another spacewalk in a week to perform additional maintenance work on the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list