spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts perform ISS spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Jul 10, 2013, 6:38 AM ET (1038 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2013 July 9 (NASA) American and Italian astronauts spent more than six hours outside the International Space Station (ISS) on Tuesday, completing a series of maintenance tasks that include preparing for the arrival of a new Russian module. NASA's Chris Cassidy and ESA's Luca Parmitano completed a six-hour, seven-minute spacewalk at 2:09 pm EDT (1809 GMT). The two replaced a failed communications unit and a camera and retrieved two experiments mounted on the station's exterior. The spacewalkers also router power cables in preparation for the planned replacement of the station's Pirs module with a new Russian multipurpose lab module later this year. The two astronauts are scheduled to perform another spacewalk in a week to perform additional maintenance work on the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list