spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches communications and weather satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 26, 2013, 9:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Alphasat and INSAT-3D (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched a large commercial communications satellite and an Indian meteorological satellite on Thursdays. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 3:54 pm EDT (1954 GMT) Thursdays, and released the Alphasat and INSAT-3D satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits about a half hour later. Alphasat, also known as I-4A F4, was built by Astrium as part of a public-private partnership with mobile satellite company Inmarsat and ESA to demonstrate a next-generate large satellite bus. The satellite, weighing 6,650 kilograms at launch, will provide mobile communications services across Europe, Africa and the Middle East. INSAT-3D, built by the Indian space agency ISRO, weighed 2,200 kilograms at launch; that satellite will provide meteorological data for the Indian subcontinent.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list