spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches communications and weather satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 26, 2013, 9:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Alphasat and INSAT-3D (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched a large commercial communications satellite and an Indian meteorological satellite on Thursdays. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 3:54 pm EDT (1954 GMT) Thursdays, and released the Alphasat and INSAT-3D satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits about a half hour later. Alphasat, also known as I-4A F4, was built by Astrium as part of a public-private partnership with mobile satellite company Inmarsat and ESA to demonstrate a next-generate large satellite bus. The satellite, weighing 6,650 kilograms at launch, will provide mobile communications services across Europe, Africa and the Middle East. INSAT-3D, built by the Indian space agency ISRO, weighed 2,200 kilograms at launch; that satellite will provide meteorological data for the Indian subcontinent.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list